TRAVELACADIA2023

Acadia Adventures 2023 – Day 6

Today was a rest day for both of us. It began drizzly and soon turned to an all-morning chilly rain, sometimes lighter, sometimes heavier, but persistent and very chilly. I picked up a plain croissant again from Mount Dessert Bakery, and we used it to supplement our breakfast of yogurt, banana, coffee and tea from the hotel lobby.

The entire morning was spent reading and researching on the porch, until we got too chilled and had to go back inside. We were both reading about George Dorr at the same time (“Pretty hard to read about Acadia without reading about Dorr!”). I added a few ideas to my list of potential explorations and added some coordinates to my GPS. I also researched some of our finds from previous days, like Robin Hood Park and the Black and White trail. The roof of the house across the street was being replaced, so we watched the workers for a while as they climbed all over the roof in the rain. That was about it for the day!

The rain finally stopped at some point during the afternoon, although it never warmed up at all. We decided on the Black Friar for dinner, mostly because Rich was craving soup and they had a filet mignon stew on their specials list. Unfortunately once we arrived there, we found out that they were sold out of that stew and were instead offering a cheddar and broccolini soup, which didn’t really appeal to Rich.

We each ended up with a bowl of clam chowder, and Rich got the grilled swordfish special with salsa verde over yellow rice and served with broccolini (“that’s how I’ll get my broccolini for the day!”). I chose the fish tacos, which I’ve had before and really liked.

Everything was excellent, including the drinks. Rich had brown ale, which was tasty and reminiscent of a light stout (similar flavor, less body). I had an Old Fashion cocktail, which I’ve wanted to try for a while, and a blueberry mojito for dessert which was excellent too (and would be so refreshing on a hot day). Oh, and we had another dessert, too: a slice of blueberry pie. We walked immediately back to the room afterward for some more reading and relaxation.

Leave a reply